Monday, February 10, 2014

Now on Tour How to Be a Man by Tamara Linse

Feb 10 Spotlight
The Creatively Green Write at Home Mom
Feb 11 Interview
Pembroke Sinclair.  

Feb 12 Interview
Roxanne’s Realm

Feb 13 Spotlight
Eclipse Reviews

Feb 14 Guest blog
Fang-tastic Books

Feb 17 Guest blog
Cloey's Book Reviews and Other Stuff

Feb 18 Spotlight
Author Karen Swart

Feb 19 Spotlight
Lisa’s World of Books

Feb 20 Spotlight and review
Luv Books Galore

Feb 21 Interview
Books Direct

Feb 24 Spotlight
Saph’s Book Blog

Feb 25 Spotlight
Annette Gisby

Feb 26 Spotlight
Darkest Cravings - Adult Blog

Feb 28 spotlight
Booklover Sue 

March 3 Spotlight
Midnight Musings with Bertena 

March 4 Spotlight and review
Paranormal Romance and Authors That Rock

March 5 Spotlight
BookwormBridgette's World

March 6 Spotlight/Review
Lissette Manning

March 10 Guest blog
Mythical Books

How to Be a Man
Tamara Linse

Genre: Literary Short Story Collection

Publisher: Willow Words

ISBN: 0991386701
ISBN-13: 978-0-9913867-0-3

ISBN: 099138671X
ISBN-13: 978-0-9913867-1-0


Number of pages: 238
Word Count: 59,650

Book Description:

“Never acknowledge the fact that you’re a girl, and take pride when your guy friends say, ‘You’re one of the guys.’ Tell yourself, ‘I am one of the guys,’ even though, in the back of your mind, a little voice says, ‘But you’ve got girl parts.’” – Birdie, in “How to Be a Man”

A girl whose self-worth revolves around masculinity, a bartender who loses her sense of safety, a woman who compares men to plants, and a boy who shoots his cranked-out father.

These are a few of the hard-scrabble characters in Tamara Linse’s debut short story collection, How to Be a Man. Set in contemporary Wyoming—the myth of the West taking its toll—these stories reveal the lives of tough-minded girls and boys, self-reliant women and men, struggling to break out of their lonely lives and the emotional havoc of their families to make a connection, to build a life despite the odds. How to Be a Man falls within the tradition of Maile Meloy, Tom McGuane, and Annie Proulx.

The author Tamara Linse—writer, cogitator, recovering ranch girl—broke her collarbone when she was three, her leg when she was four, a horse when she was twelve, and her heart ever since. Raised on a ranch in northern Wyoming, she earned her master’s in English from the University of Wyoming, where she taught writing. Her work appears in the Georgetown Review, South Dakota Review, and Talking River, among others, and she was a finalist for an Arts & Letters and Glimmer Train contests, as well as the Black Lawrence Press Hudson Prize for a book of short stories. She works as an editor for a foundation and a freelancer. Find her online at and

About the Author:

Tamara Linse grew up on a ranch in northern Wyoming with her farmer/rancher rock-hound ex-GI father, her artistic musician mother from small-town middle America, and her four sisters and two brothers. She jokes that she was raised in the 1880s because they did things old-style—she learned how to bake bread, break horses, irrigate, change tires, and be alone, skills she’s been thankful for ever since. The ranch was a partnership between her father and her uncle, and in the 80s and 90s the two families had a Hatfields and McCoys-style feud.

She worked her way through the University of Wyoming as a bartender, waitress, and editor. At UW, she was officially in almost every college on campus until she settled on English and after 15 years earned her bachelor’s and master’s in English. While there, she taught writing, including a course called Literature and the Land, where students read Wordsworth and Donner Party diaries during the week and hiked in the mountains on weekends. She also worked as a technical editor for an environmental consulting firm.

She still lives in Laramie, Wyoming, with her husband Steve and their twin son and daughter. She writes fiction around her job as an editor for a foundation. She is also a photographer, and when she can she posts a photo a day for a Project 365. Please stop by Tamara’s website,, and her blog, Writer, Cogitator, Recovering Ranch Girl, at You can find an extended bio there with lots of juicy details. Also friend her on Facebook and follow her on Twitter, and if you see her in person, please say hi.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments: